What I’m drawing…

So part of the reason that I wanted to start a blog in the first place was to show and think about my drawings. These are some that I’ve done in the last few days and weeks, in an ongoing project that I’m loosely calling the Shoreland Project. I’m trying to create drawings about where we live, especially scenes of my kids and views from the windows.

I’m determined to record as many moments as possible. The crooked angles, the views from the windows, the moments with my children, whatever I can. It’s hard when you’re trying to encompass to know where to start (and stop). So I’ve mostly started by looking out the window and working with what I see there. The picture above is part observation, part imagination.

Is anyone out there engaged in a drawing project like this, that centers around creating a sense of place? I’d love to hear from you if you are, about your process and creative choices. You’ll be hearing more about mine in the weeks and months to come.

Leave a Reply

