rehearsals and sugar plum dreams

My daughter is in the local Hyde Park School of Dance’s Annual Nutcracker production. Catherine is a party girl in the magical scene in which Herr Drosselmeyer presents Clara with the Nutcracker. Which has meant many rehearsals and much hard work.

What’s been unusual for us this year is that, I, too, have rehearsals, and much hard work. I’m dancing in the Nutcracker, as one of the parents in the party scene! (I’ll pause here…. so you can gasp or faint or bust out laughing and then collect yourself). Ever since I was a little girl, reading the book A Very Young Dancer about a young girl’s chance to be Clara in the George Balanchine Nutcracker in New York City, I’ve wanted to be in this ballet. And now, against all the odds, as a grown woman, I’ve got my chance.


You can imagine the excitement around here.

We had our first dress rehearsal last Friday and we have just one more to go before the first performance this Friday.

It’s been amazing going off to dance with my daughter. To be in a production with her. I’ve been so proud of her — and so delighted for me at my good fortune to be included in this show, which is really a Hyde Park tradition and a show that brings the whole community together. So lovely. And so much in keeping with the spirit of the holidays.

All that to say, wish us luck this weekend — or maybe, better yet, break a leg. And if you don’t see much of me here for the next few days, I might just be dancing. Stop by again next week for many updates celebrating the season.

One thought on “rehearsals and sugar plum dreams

  1. I love it–I love the fact that you are in the Nutcracker–also a childhood dream of mine. I never took ballet classes, but there were many ballets danced in my livingroom in twirly skirts. I’m humming now “Da-da-da-da da dah dah dah…dah dah dah dah dah dah dah dah(the descending scale that is so famously Nutcracker) bahbumbah bum bah bum bah bum… and on and on and on and on…

    Because my mom played violin for our local productions I went to watch every year starting when I was three. At the edge of my seat, usually in the balcony.

    What a great memory both of you will have!

Leave a Reply

